How did I get here?

How did I get here?

Yeah, yeah I know everyone asks themselves that from time to time, but seriously how did I get here? I was a music major turned karate instructor, turned buyer, then turned into teacher in urban Jacksonville.  There was a time in my life I was even thinking I would be a pilot, I even flew solo, and if that didn’t work out maybe I would just be a doctor.

I must be some kind of wanderer, but it took until recently for me to be at peace with that idea.   Truthfully I have always been a teacher of some kind.  Most of my jobs I have held have included some aspect of teaching, helping others learn how to do the same job or some other aspect of training.  Perhaps that is the position I have always wanted, perhaps that is why I have decided in my wanderings to head towards teaching.

Born in Texas, graduated high school in Wisconsin and now a resident of Jacksonville, FL I am now teaching.  I am also learning more about myself then I ever knew I could.  It was in the preparation for that move, or maybe the move happened because I realized my life had become way to complicated and at the same time boring.

I was making plenty of money, my job was pretty secure, my life was relatively easy. I had some great friends and had finally found security and stability and had even been living in the same home for five years which was a new record.  Obviously that was a great time to throw up my hands and say, “Nope, this isn’t the life I want and it isn’t the life that I will live.”

That moment was almost two years ago, and while it took some time to formulate a plan it occurs to me, it might just be time to process all of the changes and decide where to go from here.

5 thoughts on “How did I get here?

  1. Making such a decision if very brave! Not many people actually try that. You see most folks strive to build a life like the one you’ve described but there’s so much more to life than this…stagnation.

    Like

      1. Wishing you all the best on your journey! Judging from what you sound like you’re all set and ready to rock it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

